SimplyPats User Forum

SimplyPats Portable Appliance Testing Software
It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 11:39 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 12:48 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1101
Location: Cornwall
Recording and Printing Multiple Earth Continuity Tests

In SimplyPats only 1 continuity test result is shown and this is the last continuity test conducted of a test sequence. Historically many PAT test machines would only conduct and / or record 1 continuity result.

In recent years with more advanced PAT test machines you can set the tester to not only repeat a Continuity test on a Class I appliance (useful where you may have trouble finding a good spot for the earth crocodile clip), but also to record the repeated tests. In the latter case, you could for example test every outlet of a 4 way extension lead.

In addition we have many customers who either PAT test in house, or have tested by an outside contractor, theatrical and similar specialised multi way cables. E.g. Socapex used in stage lighting.

We are hoping to add to the next release, support for storing and printing Multiple Earth Continuity Tests for all those PAT testers which have the facility to do multiple tests. E.g. Seaward Apollo 500 and Apollo 600, Metrel SigmaPat MI3310, Megger PAT420 etc.

Where multiple earth continuity tests have been conducted, in the SimplyPats main screen where the test results are shown, under the current list of tests, their results and statuses will be listed continuity results from R1 to Rn. If only 1 earth continuity test is conducted then just the main list of tests will appear as before.

Attachment:
File comment: Multiple Earth Continuity Tests
multiple_continuity_tests.jpg
multiple_continuity_tests.jpg [ 53.97 KiB | Viewed 3526 times ]


On printing the V2 Passes and Fails Report or the V2 Passes Report or the V2 Fails Report under each appliance where multiple earth continuity tests have been performed will appear a list of each test.

Attachment:
File comment: Printing Mutliple Earth Continuity PAT Tests
multiple_continuity_results_print.jpg
multiple_continuity_results_print.jpg [ 61.22 KiB | Viewed 3526 times ]


Barring any testing issues, we are hoping to add this feature to the next free upgrade of SimplyPats 7 (7-0-4) due later this year. As there are a few PAT tester download routines to amend and test, it maybe we introduce the feature to all the PAT testers that support multiple earth continuity recording over a period of time.

If the roll out of this feature is successful, we would look at adding a Manual Entry screen to allow adding multiple continuity tests, this may be useful for those testing multi core cables with a multi meter and not a PAT test machine.

Different Behaviour Between PAT Test Machines

It is worth mentioning that we believe (at time of writing) that not all PAT Testing machines behave the same way when set up to perform multiple earth continuity tests. For example in the case of an Seaward Apollo 600, if a test sequence is set up to perform 4 earth continuity tests in a row, if any test fails the remainder of the tests are not conducted. Testing stops at the first failed test. In the case of a Metrel SigmaPAT MI3310 even if a earth continuity test fails, the test machine will carry on regardless testing the remainder of the itterations.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 6:17 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1101
Location: Cornwall
PAT Testing Multiple Insulation Resistance Tests

Just as an update to this thread.

We have modified the storage of Multiple Earth Continuity Results to allow the future recording of Multiple Insulation Resistance Tests.

We are currently working through the 50 or so downloading PAT testers that SimplyPats 7 currently supports and adding those that support the creation of testcodes that allow multiple earth continuity results to be recorded.

Current List Of PAT Testers With Multiple Continuity Capability

    Seaward Apollo 600
    Seaward Apollo 500
    Seaward Primtest 350
    Seaward Primtest 300
    Metrel SigmaPat MI3310
    Metrel SigmaPat MI3310 (Aus NZ Firmware)
    Metrel BetaPat Plus MI3304
    Metrel OmegaPat Plus MI3305 (Aus NZ Firmware)
    Metrel BetaPat Plus MI3304 (Aus NZ Firmware)
    Metrel OmegaPat Plus MI3305
    Fluke 6500-2 (#1)
    Kewtech KT77
    Megger 410,420,430 (#2)

Note this list will be amended when any more testers found to be compatible are coded for.


NOTES

#1 The Fluke 6500-2 can only store a maximum of 4 Continuity Tests
#2 The Megger 400 series PAT testers allow you to setup up a group code for continuity where you can select the cycles (number of repeats) that a continuity test is performed. However it only appears that one result is stored. Any further information would be gratefully received to confirm this.


Last edited by richard on Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:00 pm, edited 5 times in total.
Edited to reflect amendments to list July 4th 2014


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 11:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 1:07 am
Posts: 25
Just to add to your work load...
If I test a 4 way lead, I have a program set up to test 4 x Earth Continuity and 4 x IEC polarity tests. Will/can this be logged too please?

On a side note, I was testing a posh 10 way lead somewhere whilst being watched by the owner...who commented on how slow doing that was, and he would have just tested the last socket. With that, the next socket I tested was reverse polarity. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 12:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1101
Location: Cornwall
Hi Light Console

Thanks for your post. Regarding multiple polarity testing, yes, I have hopefully designed this addition so that I could add the recording of multiple continuity tests. (or any other tests e.g. Insulation)

Quote:
I was testing a posh 10 way lead somewhere whilst being watched by the owner...who commented on how slow doing that was, and he would have just tested the last socket. With that, the next socket I tested was reverse polarity


Yes, I know several testers who like to test each individual socket of an extension lead to ensure none are faulty. I guess this thorough approach takes time and maybe isn't always seen by a customer or in house duty holder.

What PAT tester are you using? The problem with multiple polarity tests is that many testers either don't have the capability to set multiple polarity tests, and also importantly, some that allow multiple polarity tests do not store and therefore allow retrieval of the multiple polarity data.

If you let me know what tester you have, I will investigate the data output and see how it can be added to SimplyPats.

Regards, Richard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 5:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 1:07 am
Posts: 25
Hi Richard,

It isn't seen, and I think I will charge more for a thorough test, the listing of multiple earth tests then prove it! I've now found too many extension leads with faults to risk saying it is safe to simply test the earth continuity at the last socket. It would be much better not to list is as IEC Lead Continuity or Polarity... but I guess that is easy!

I'm using the Apollo 600, and here is a print out from their software, showing the 4 polarity tests too.

Attachment:
Image1.jpg
Image1.jpg [ 97.59 KiB | Viewed 3376 times ]


Thank you,
Robert.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 5:57 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1101
Location: Cornwall
Hi Robert

Thanks for the image of the printout - looks as though the Seaward Apollo 600 records (and therefore will download) multiple polarity tests.

As I think you are aware, next week the office will be unmanned however I will add this to the list of additions for 7.0.5 and start investigating it the week after next, if that's ok.

Hopefully it will be reasonably straightforward to add to the same sub report containing the multiple continuity tests. (fingers crossed)

Regards Richard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 6:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 1:07 am
Posts: 25
Hi Richard,

Yes, I was aware, that's why I was keen to buy it before you went away, so I have time to play before my next client needs to be tested in October. I need to learn it, then teach it to my brother who will be joining me.

Hope you get a chance to relax, and fingers crossed that it is easy!

Thank you,
Robert.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:11 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1101
Location: Cornwall
Thanks Robert,

think I've designed some future proofing in the mechanism to allow this. Will have a look week after next.

Regards, Richard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 1:56 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1101
Location: Cornwall
Hi Robert

I have started looking at recording multiple polarity tests and have been trying to setup my Apollo 600 to carry out more than one polarity test.

However I cannot see anywhere that you can set the number of times the test is performed. I am using the IEC Lead Wiring test? However unlike the continuity where you can set the number of repeats this is not the case with the IEC lead test.

Did you just add multiple IEC Lead Wiring Tests to your test sequence?

In the meantime i will see if I can figure it out.

Regards Richard


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 2:30 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 2:10 pm
Posts: 716
Location: Cornwall
richard wrote:
I have started looking at recording multiple polarity tests and have been trying to setup my Apollo 600 to carry out more than one polarity test.

However I cannot see anywhere that you can set the number of times the test is performed. I am using the IEC Lead Wiring test? However unlike the continuity where you can set the number of repeats this is not the case with the IEC lead test.


Managed to work this one out, just in case anyone else is interested….

Looks like you need to use a slightly different approach when setting up Multiple Polarity Tests on your Seaward Apollo 600 (I presume that same applies to the Seaward Apollo 500).

For multiple Continuity you have the option to set the “Repeats” This is entered as a numerical value and refers to the number of times the test us carried out in succession. This option does not seem to be present under the Polarity test setup options.

Instead, you will need to add individual Polarity Tests to a custom test sequence. Once you have created a custom test sequence for Multiple Polarity tests, simply press F2 to add the required number of Polarity Tests to carry out in succession (See below).

Attachment:
File comment: Seaward Apollo 600 setting up multiple Polarity tests in the same test sequence
Apollo-Multiple-Polarity.jpg
Apollo-Multiple-Polarity.jpg [ 89.41 KiB | Viewed 3356 times ]


Hope this helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 11:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 1:07 am
Posts: 25
Hi folks,
Sorry for the slow reply, I thought I would stay away whilst you were on holiday!
I've had to test some of my lighting and sound kit this week, so used the software officially, rather than playing with it - an email to follow - but it's all good news/questions!


My tests were set up as Admin suggests. If only you wrote the software for the tester too, since it asks you to confirm you've changed socket each time before doing the test!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 9:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1101
Location: Cornwall
Hi Robert

First, as an update to this thread, I have started a separate thread on Multiple Continuity tests.

viewtopic.php?f=59&t=956

I have also had to add a new Passes and Fails report to show the multiple continuity and polarity test information as I have found that we have had compatibility issues with users who have had custom designed test reports based on the V2 Passes and Fails report which originally showed the multiple continuity data.

Second, many thanks for your email. I know Carl has been working through your suggestions and comments and has been writing a response. I will look at this in more detail when I have squared away the amendments due to the multiple polarity testing.

I would hope to have a beta version that includes this feature by mid to late next week (other issues excepting) which you are welcome to try out.

Regards, Richard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 1:07 am
Posts: 25
Hi Richard,

Many thanks to you both for your hard work. I'd love to try out the Beta for you.
Best wishes,
Robert.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 1:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1101
Location: Cornwall
Hi Robert

Many thanks for your offer of beta testing simplyPats Version 7.0.5. which has the Multiple Polarity and Multiple Continuity test feature added.

I have today produced a beta version for you to try.

There is a new report that has been added which is based on the existing V2 Passes and Fails report which should show the Multiple Test entries where applicable.

SimplyPats when you first run it after upgrading should notify you of this new report.

I will ask Carl to upload the beta 7.0.5 to our web site and email you a link where you can download and install it.

Please would you keep a close eye on the test results and let us know of any anomalies.

Regards, Richard


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 6:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 1:07 am
Posts: 25
Hi Richard,
Many thanks for the update, about to update the software and have a look...

Edit to add...

It works!
BUT (although not surprisingly)
It only works on a new import (from an old .TAR file is fine), if there is existing data there, it won't pick up the polarity tests.
Attachment:
File comment: Old database
printout.jpg
printout.jpg [ 15.74 KiB | Viewed 3329 times ]

In my case, after the new import, the preview on the report then listed the polarity, and I gained a smile. As you can see, it said NA next to the entry, which I guess isn't ideal - but it doesn't say IEC LEAD before them, unlike the Seaward software. Superb, thank you.
Attachment:
File comment: New import
fixed.jpg
fixed.jpg [ 20.7 KiB | Viewed 3329 times ]


For my needs, it would be perfect if this new report could be "merged" with the no location grouping format. But it is fantastic that you can now prove that you tested each socket on the extensions.

Other buggettes -

I get an error message after the flash screen, when I open the program...
Attachment:
File comment: Error message box
open issue1.jpg
open issue1.jpg [ 34.93 KiB | Viewed 3329 times ]

I don't have that software installed (although it sounds interesting!)
Clicking on OK opens the program without further hiccups, but with an off colour display, as if everything is highlighted.
Going into System Settings, but only clicking on OK on the box that pops up clears the issue, and my screen returns to the white/green divisions I have set up. The column order seems to remember where it is put now, it would reset each time I closed and re-opened the program before this update.

Thank you again,
Robert.


Last edited by Light Console on Wed Sep 03, 2014 11:52 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group