SimplyPats User Forum

SimplyPats Portable Appliance Testing Software
It is currently Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:47 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 8:32 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Southport
Hi Richard,

Is it possible to create a "pro forma invoice" or a "quote" in SP7 ?. A client has asked my to submit one to them.

Thanks

_________________
Andy

CRS Southport
PAT Testing & IT Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Cornwall
Hi Andy

Currently there is no way to create a pro forma invoice in SimplyPats however off the top of my head this would be reasonably easy to add.

We get asked for pro forma invoices now and again and I'm not totally sure how they differ. I suspect they do not contain an invoice number and have the words "Pro forma" written at the top. I guess also a pro forma invoice may have a phrase written on it specifying the number of days the price quotes is valid for. Hopefully someone will correct me where I am wrong.

We are due to release 7.0.3 in the next few days, however I will add it to our list to investigate in 7.0.4. As SimplyPats can already print a receipt of an invoice with the words PAID stamped in red, I suspect I already have some of the mechanisms in place to create a Pro Forma Invoice.

Thanks for your suggestion, Regards, Richard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 8:32 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Southport
Thanks Richard,

Its the first time we have been asked to produce this type of documentation, apparently its used so a company can raise a "works order" in their finance software.

As always thank you 1st class customer support.

Andy

_________________
Andy

CRS Southport
PAT Testing & IT Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 12:35 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Cornwall
Hi Andy

I thought I'd take a look at your request to create a pro forma invoice from within SimplyPats today and as I thought, it's not been a huge task to implement.

On the Create Invoice screen I have added a tick box for Pro Forma

Attachment:
File comment: Create Pro Forma PAT Testing Invoice
proforma_invoice_option.jpg
proforma_invoice_option.jpg [ 18.23 KiB | Viewed 1918 times ]


When you print the Invoice it will appear as shown below:

Attachment:
File comment: PAT Testing Pro Forma Example
proforma_invoice.jpg
proforma_invoice.jpg [ 26.47 KiB | Viewed 1918 times ]


In addition to the words Pro Forma at the top, the Invoice number is set to N/A for not applicable as I beleive the Pro Forma should not have an Invoice Number.

This will be added to the next update to Simplypats 7.0.3 due in the next couple of days.

Regards, Richard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 5:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 8:32 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Southport
Thanks for the update Richard.

Simply make a manual entry, save customer details and save file. Then create invoice, tick pro forma invoice and done.

Many thanks for making this possible, fantastic !!!

Kind regards


Attachments:
Invoice 03-04-2014_001.jpg
Invoice 03-04-2014_001.jpg [ 71.62 KiB | Viewed 1913 times ]

_________________
Andy

CRS Southport
PAT Testing & IT Services
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Cornwall
Hi Andy

Great stuff, I didn't do alot of testing on it after I had added the code so good to see it seems to be working ok. Incidentally if you go to print preview or save invoice, SimpyPats would prompt you to increment the Invoice Number, however this prompt is supressed if you are printing / saving a pro forma invoice as it would never be allocated an invoice number.

Let me know if there any other additions needed to the Pro Forma to make it compliant. I did a bit of research but couldn't think of anything else.

Regards, Richard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 8:32 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Southport
Thanks Richard,

The only other thing, after speaking with the recipient, is Bank and payment type details on the Pro Forma.

Regards,

_________________
Andy

CRS Southport
PAT Testing & IT Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Cornwall
Hi Andy

Can't these be added using the Extra Invoice text lines in Settings > Print Settings > General TAB or is there insufficient space?

Regards Richard


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 8:32 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Southport
Yes they can !!!, ample room in Report Header Text and in Upper and Lower Invoice Text. Just up to the user where the info can be placed.

Thanks Richard,

Regards,

_________________
Andy

CRS Southport
PAT Testing & IT Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:38 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 2:10 pm
Posts: 719
Location: Cornwall
Hi Andy

In case you are interested…

We have produced a number of Custom Invoice Reports where we have "Hard Coded" the users BACS or payment details into the invoice, doing this also frees up the Invoice Text fields in SimplyPats.

Any Bank and Payment Details added to the Report in this way cannot be changed by the user, however all you need to do is notify us of any future changes and we will apply them. It’s a fairly quick and easy job.

Regards Carl


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:48 pm
Posts: 54
Hi guys,

Has this been put out on general release yet, or is it a by request addition?


Ive been looking into how to create a quote/pro-forma invoice for a prospective client also.

Cheers,

Allan.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:04 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Cornwall
Hi Allan

The pro forma invoice option is included in upgrade 7.0.3 which I am hoping (fingers crossed) to release today, howver by the end of the week at the latest. (I'm struggling with my brand new PC which isn't very well..... )

Glad this pro forma option looks like it might be useful to people.

As soon as I manage to get the update out I will ask Carl to send you an email so that you know it is available.

Regards, Richard.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group