SimplyPats User Forum

SimplyPats Portable Appliance Testing Software
It is currently Fri Aug 17, 2018 6:39 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 5:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 7:36 am
Posts: 3
Hi,

Over the past week or so we had had a number of crashes in Simply PATS 7. The software becomes unresponsive and in one case lost a load of tests, Managed to screen dump before the app closed fortunately.

I have just upgraded to 7.0.8 so hopefully if there was an issue that is resolved it however if I now goto Help and click system information the software crashes. Anyone else had issues like this? Any help on resolving would be great.

Running Windows 10 with Intel Atom

Gerry


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:45 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1101
Location: Cornwall
Hi Gerry

First of all sorry to hear that simplypats is freezing.

Most importantly regarding automatic backups in SimplyPats:

Make sure you are running SimplyPats 7.0.7 or above.

1) If you are downloading from a tester

On a succesfull download from your PAT Machine 2 different separate Automatic backups are created from the data. The raw data from the PAT machine itself and a backup of the SimplyPats data file created before you do any editing. These backups are stored in C:\Users\[YourUserName\AppData\Local\RSR Systems\SimplyPats7\ In two sub folders RawData and Backups. Either of these files can be used to recover your ordiginal data if you have problems.

2) If you are Manual Entering Test Results

Every Manual Test you enter is automatically logged in a separate backup file each and every time you add a test. If for what ever reason (power loss, system crash or you just forget to save the data etc) we can use this log file to recover your manually entered tests.

There are many reasons why software can become unstable, for example recently where pc's install Windows 10). Unless there is a hardware or operating system fault we usually find a clean reinstall of the software will clear the issue.

If you contact our support line we can guide you through this, I will ask Carl tomorow to send you a link to the full download where you can download a full copy of the software.

Regards, Richard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 1:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 7:36 am
Posts: 3
Thanks to Richard and the team for sorting my issues.

Very quick response and answered all my questions.

Very impressed with the support given :-)

Gerry


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group