SimplyPats User Forum

SimplyPats Portable Appliance Testing Software
It is currently Sat May 26, 2018 10:37 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Downloading Pat Testers
PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 12:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 5:23 am
Posts: 102
Location: Leeton, NSW Australia
Hi Richard,

I am aware that the basis of this comment has originated elsewhere but having difficulty finding the forum comments.

In recent days by necessity I have loaded a complete new version of SP6.1 onto another PC (Laptop).

In configuring the software by selecting System Settings and then Pat Settings I have selected the machine I use for Pat Testing, namely the Alpha Pat with Aust and NZ firmware.

When I then go to File and then Download Pat, the Pat Tester I use is shown on screen and the DnLoad button is then pressed to iniate the download. The download starts, somewhat very slowly until completed. I will experiment with a faster Baud rate as discussed with Carl earlier today. The download speed is not my concern at present.

I accept the fact that there are other individuals and or businesses who use and or have a variety of PAT testers and subsequently asked for the option of selecting their Pat Tester at the time of download irrespective of what system settings had been originally applied to the software.

However for those single Sole Traders ie a one man show, who use the one machine for their business, can an option button be provided in the Pat Tester Settings screen, under Sytem Settings so that when the Pat Tester is selected, this screen does not appear every time the Pat Tester is downloaded?

Regards

Glenn


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2013 11:44 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1097
Location: Cornwall
Hi Glenn,

Apologies for not responding to this earlier. I did have a chance to have a quick look at this last night.

The initialsing screen is a bit of a pain to load, especially as we now support 40 odd PAT Test machines. There are obviously alot of parameters for alot of the machines and this all takes time to load. As new PAT testers come onto the market and we add them to SimplyPats this screen may take even longer to load.

In a quick experiment I did last night I think it may be possible to have a quick download button that immediately goes to download your last selected PAT with the settings that were set.

This I think will work for your test and tag machine (the AlphaPat) however it may not work for those machines that use USB pen drives to copy the raw data across.

When I get 5 minutes I will persue my code and see if it can be made to work.

Regards, Richard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 3:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 5:23 am
Posts: 102
Location: Leeton, NSW Australia
Hi Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to look at my request.

If it can be achieved quickly then fine. Otherwise, I will live with the issue.

Regards

Glenn


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group