SimplyPats User Forum

SimplyPats Portable Appliance Testing Software
It is currently Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:16 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: RCD and Microwave Tests
PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 6:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 7:01 pm
Posts: 18
Location: New Zealand
Would it be possible to to include a field in the downloaded results from a pat test that you could manually enter the results of a microwave /RCD test. This would allow the combined test results to be shown relating to 1 Appliance instead of two seperate tests especially if several similar appliances are tested on the same site.
:idea:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 2:30 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 2:10 pm
Posts: 719
Location: Cornwall
Hi Clive

I have moved your original post from the Feedback and Comments section to this section.

Apologies if I haven’t understood your question correctly, if not would it be possible to provide more detail or reword your question.

In SimplyPats Version 6 users have the option of manually entering Microwave Leakage and/or RCD Trip Time for any appliance in a PAT file, this is true for PAT data download from a PAT Tester or PAT data manually entered into SimplyPats.

Microwave Leakage and RCD Trip Time results are entered into SimplyPats by Right clicking on an appliance and choosing the RCD and Microwave Tests option, a screen then appears giving you the option of adding the results for the particular test type. Once entered this appears in the Test Results area in SimplyPats.

The results for the Microwave Leakage and RCD Trip Time are included on some of the generic reports produced by SimplyPats, however users also have the option of producing dedicated reports detailing just Microwave and RCD Test results. For this to work at its best, the appliance description should contain the word Microwave or RDC.

Carl


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 6:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 5:23 am
Posts: 102
Location: Leeton, NSW Australia
Hi Carl,

In relation to Clive's comments/queries about RCDs, he also operates under the same Standard as myself ie the PDF document I recently sent you providing details about the two different types of RCDs.

Any further consideration given to modifying the RCD/Microwave test result box to allow test results for a Type I RCD to be entered as well as Type II RCDs which SP6 currently accepts?

Regards

glenfer


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2010 10:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 7:01 pm
Posts: 18
Location: New Zealand
Hi Carl,

Just to clarify the RCD suggestions, The 30ma RCD is most commonly used but 15ma RCD's are used in some Lifeguard Multiboxes and 10ma type1 RCD's are used in some specialised situations. It would also be an advantage to have a field to record the trip current as well as the trip time. Although the trip current is not a requirement at this stage it may be a future requirement where formal records are required to be kept. It can also give an indication of the condition of the RCD that was tested.These areas may be something to look at in future developments. :)

Regards Clive


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2010 11:14 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 2:10 pm
Posts: 719
Location: Cornwall
Hi Clive / Glenfer

I will refer this back to Richard, as adding any features such as this will require changes to the data structure, and most certainly program development. There are also issues with adding any new test information to the Reports, however this is fairly easy.

I do have the PDF document you sent Glenfer and im sure this will be a great help if Richard decides to look at adding the additional RCD data field.

Carl


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 4:05 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Cornwall
Hi Clive and Glenfer

Many apologies for not catching up on this thread earlier.

Having been imersed in RCD testing and the RCD test data with some of the new PAT testers that do it, I have amended the way the downloaded RCD information is handled in simplyPats, particularly to try and meet the Australian / New Zealand Standard for Test and Tag (PAT Testing )

I have also amended the manual entry of RCD information to include the selection of test current (previously it was fixed at 30 mA for the UK). Having re read your post's I will also include 15 mA as you say these are used in some Lifeguard Multiboxes.

See also viewtopic.php?f=15&t=538

I'm not sure we have fully made SimplyPats compatible with the RCD testing in Australia / New Zealand but hopefully this addresses one issue.

Regards, Richard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 5:23 am
Posts: 102
Location: Leeton, NSW Australia
Hi Richard,
Thank you for the update so far in modifying the Microwave/RCD result pulldown box to meet the requests made by Clive and myself.

On May 25, 2010, Clive also wrote:-
Quote:
It would also be an advantage to have a field to record the trip current as well as the trip time. Although the trip current is not a requirement at this stage it may be a future requirement where formal records are required to be kept.

Clive's comment refers to the Ramp Test I have discussed with you in my private email when using the Metrel MI2120 RCD tester.

Regards

Glenn


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:48 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Cornwall
Hi Glenn,

Yes thanks Glenn, at the moment with the new modifications in 6.0.5 for Australia / New Zealand the single trip current is being stored (not just set at the 30mA which the UK uses), and this will be what has been selected from the drop down, e.g. 10mA, 15mA or 30mA.

I will also check that you will be able to enter an other current not supplied in the drop down, e.g. 20mA

With the Ramp Testing I will need to do some more investigation into how we can record multiple currents and have an acceptable way of reporting them.

Regards, Richard.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group