SimplyPats User Forum

SimplyPats Portable Appliance Testing Software
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:17 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 1:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 8:42 am
Posts: 14
HI. Is there a way of using the setup to display all readings in class 2 tests. Reason the same over / under results are able to be found if the test probe...is not connected. I use load to indicate a test took place. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 4:31 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1087
Location: Cornwall
Hi Bonedry

If you are using a Megger PAT 410, PAT 420 or PAT 450 then the data that is sent out from the tester is the same as it appears on screen.

Insulation test results that are in excess of 99 Meg Ohms are shown as >99 in the downloaded data. I have always understood this to be "out of range", or in excess of the maximum reading the tester can record, although I'm sure Megger can confirm this.

Similarly milli Amp readings less than the minimum range that the tester can measure are sent down as <0.1.

The ranges and accuracy of the tester are given in the manual of the tester.

I should say this is common for almost all the 50 or so downloading PAT tester machines that I have used over 8 or so manufacturers.

Regards, Richard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 8:42 am
Posts: 14
Thanks I thought that may be the case. New development.
The megger 420 went down with a power supply 73 error.
Thought nothing of it until It would not reset, even with fresh fuses.
I was doing a standard class 1 test on a bench grinder at the time, about 330VA.
AVO the suppliers commented it could be a new power supply. I thought however
these machines should be pretty well protected and robust. It starts up but does not go
through to the sign in part, stalls, shows error and waits with the set null sign
up top on the display.
Regards Laurence.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 1:00 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1087
Location: Cornwall
Hi Laurence

Sorry to hear about your tester, hope they manage to sort it soon.

It's not a fault I have come across before and most of the PAT testers I know locally use the PAT420 so I would get to hear about it.

As I say hope they manage to sort it.

Regards, Richard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 11:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 8:42 am
Posts: 14
HI richard. Turns out the error 73 was a faulty supply earth to the tester itself.
Disaster averted. Thanks to Tony our technical support for avo nz. New one for them as well.
Shows us all to keep well grounded however successful we think we are!
Regards laurence


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 2:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 1087
Location: Cornwall
Hi Laurence

Great stuff, glad you have got it sorted and that Avo (Megger) support in NZ was helpful.

Posting the error 73 message will help other users in the future who are searching to find out what the cause is.

Regards, Richard


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group