SimplyPats User Forum

SimplyPats Portable Appliance Testing Software
It is currently Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:58 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:09 pm
Posts: 1
Hi all,

My colleague and I have just taken on the PAT responsibilities for our work. We have purchased a BetaPat plus and a SigmaPat and want to link them to the same computer so that we will be able to store the PAT information in one place. We also have barcode scanners for each machine, which seem to work fine, but would like to know how to use the scanners to create personalised tests for each item.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 3:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 2:10 pm
Posts: 691
Location: Cornwall
Hi Hassitest

Out of interest, which PAT software are you currently using if any?

If you are using SimplyPats to download PAT Data from your Metrel BetaPat and SigmaPat you can set the default data path, SimplyPats will then save data to your designated folder. Some users have a central file server or prefer to store the data on an external hard drive, both of these are ideal as long as the server or storage device are turned on and available at the time.

As for the scanners and creating personalised tests, we assume you are referring to the test codes that are used to tell the PAT Tester what tests to run on a particular appliance. Pages 46 / 47 of the BetaPat Plus manual contains information with regards to creating Test Codes.

As you create your own Test Sequences on the PAT, you will see that the PAT Tester assigns a numerical code (Test Code), simply use a Word Processor to make up sheets of A4 which include the Description and Barcode underneath (or beside).

You will need to use a compatible Bar Code Font such as 3 of 9 for typing the code itself and you may want to make it quite big. I would also enter the Test Code as a numeric in case you have a problem reading the code with the scanner.

Whichever Barcode you choose to use, you may also need to program your scanner to read that code, but I expect it would be programmed to read the 3 of 9 Barcode font out of the box.

If you need further assistance, please give us a call.

Regards Carl


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group